top of page

Aotearoa Youth Declaration 2024

Updated: May 27

We are excited to announce that the Youth Declaration 2024 is finally completed!

The Aotearoa Youth Declaration contains the combined voices of rangatahi from across Aotearoa in their vision for the future.

Over the course of four days, from Thursday 11 April 2024 to Sunday 14 April 2024, 200 participants convened at the University of Auckland. Participants were distributed among 12 rōpū focusing on the following areas: Arts and Culture, Economic Development, Education, Environment, Foreign Affairs, Hauora, Justice and Governance, Media and Communications, Science and Technology, Social Development, Transport, and Youth Development. Participants were tasked with identifying policy issues and policy solutions within each rōpū.

The Declaration will be shared with decision-makers and community organisations across the motu. The Aotearoa Youth Declaration aims to influence and provide youth input into the policy decision making process. We hope this Declaration gives insight to the voices of rangatahi and it be meaningfully considered by those in power and with decision-making abilities.

We are so excited to share with you the Youth Declaration of 2024!

AYD Summary Document
Download PDF • 21.50MB

AYD Declaration 2024
Download PDF • 109.35MB

Alongside the Youth Declaration itself, the photos and memories taken by our talented Media Team are ready for you to download and relive! 📸

Aotearoa Youth Declaration 2024 would not be possible without the support of tertiary aged volunteers. Thank you to the 74 volunteers who contributed to the running of the event. An event of this calibre would not be possible without your tireless contribution.

We would also like to thank our wonderful collaborators. This event would not be what it is without the support of the following organisations and individuals:

  • Pacific Fusion Fashion Show,

  • Doughnut Economics,

  • NZEI Te Riu Roa,

  • World Vision,

  • Māngere Refugee Resettlement Centre,

  • St John,

  • Equal Justice Project,

  • AcademyEX [Tech Futures Lab],

  • Housing First Auckland,

  • NZ Food Network,

  • Dear Em,

  • Dr Rufus McEwan,

  • Dr Sarah Bickerton,

  • Dr Sarah Paterson-Hamlin,

  • Chlöe Swarbrick,

  • Minster for Youth, Hon Matt Doocey.

587 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page