UN Youth covers four regions across New Zealand, each running a number of regional events throughout the year.



The Auckland Region is the oldest and largest of the current UN Youth regions. It has won the Cutfield Gavel for the Most Successful Region numerous times and runs a number of events throughout the year for both high school and tertiary students. Auckland hosts the largest event of the UN Youth programme, the Auckland High Schools Model UN.



The northern boundary for the Wellington Region extends from Taranaki, to Taupo, up to Gisborne and all the way down to Wellington City where the Regional Council is based. Wellington proudly hosts UN Youth's flagship event, NZ Model UN.



The Canterbury Region was established in late 2002. The Region has developed an extensive Model UN Programme, particularly at a secondary school level. The Canterbury region encompasses Christchurch, Nelson, Marlborough, West Coast and everywhere in-between, holding events for high school students in Christchurch, Greymouth and Nelson.



The Otago Region of UN Youth, covering the entirety of New Zealand located south of the Waitaki River, was founded in 2006. Initially UN Youth Otago offered specialist support to the Otago branch of Rotary to help run their Model United Nations Assembly event. Since then, the Region has diversified its events programme, to include a flagship Model UN conference, subregional events in Southland, Central Otago, Dunedin, and a Youth Forum event.

Event Terms and Conditions; Privacy Policy

©2021 UN Youth New Zealand, a registered charity (CC46424). The United Nations Association of New Zealand (The United Nations Youth Association of New Zealand Branch) Inc is the youth arm of the United Nations Association of New Zealand, a member of the World Federation of the United Nations Associations (WFUNA).