The Canterbury Region of UN Youth was established in late 2002. The Region has developed an extensive Model UN Programme, particularly at a secondary level. A number of previous and current national office holders originate from Canterbury. The Canterbury region encompasses Christchurch, Nelson, Marlborough, West Coast and everywhere in-between. We hold events for high school students in Christchurch, Greymouth and Nelson. 

The events being held within the region this year are:

    • Canterbury Model UN 2014 - Completed
    • Nelson and Marlborough Model UN - Completed
    • NZ Model UN training - Completed
    • Canterbury Model European Union - Completed
    • Canterbury Universities Model UN - Postponed and happening in Term 4
    • Outreach - Coming in October

          Plus heaps of other events are in the pipeline, as well as regional dinners, quiz nights, an outreach event and much, much more!

Another main feature in our calendar is Model UNs in the classroom. If you'd like to hold one of these events at your school, please email Kaitlyn at

The Canterbury Regional Council members are:

President: Margot Shanahan (

Vice President (High Schools): Kaitlyn White (

Vice President (University): Lauren Butchers (

Secretary: Madison Hughes

Treasurer: Scott Farmer

General Members:

Roland Eveleens  

Daniel Maier-Gant

Zewdi Walker

William Fulton

Edward Roche

Immediate Past President: Michael Cropp (

User login

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.

Latest on Twitter